Boards of June

If May was slow, then June was slower. Having to travel for various family birthdays, the continuing trials of a baby who hasn’t read the book on sleeping, re-organising my house to give said baby a room of his own and (ironically) a long weekend at the UK Games Expo all got in the way of some more regular gaming sessions.

 

UKGE

UK Games Expo is the biggest weekend in gaming in the UK, and one of the biggest in the world these days, and it’s always good to make it along to this.

ukge Last year I was doing games demonstration, part of a big team that had grown even more this year, to the point where I believe they hit 100 demo-ers! This year I’d decided to head along with a slightly smaller party, joining the good folk from Games Quest.

It was certainly a gruelling time – long hours of fairly heavy physical work setting up on the Thursday, and an impromptu meeting in a hotel car-park on Friday night to unload a game that had accidentally made its way to Expo via Luxembourg. Saturday was the biggest day ever at UKGE in terms of attendees, and then the always long and wearying process of set-down / trying to figure out exactly what went where on Sunday before heading home.

Overall, it was a good weekend – aside from talking to a lot of people about a lot of board games, I also found myself on a stand that sold replica swords and magic wands. For anyone interested, Longclaw is quite nicely weighted (did I ever mention that I used to do sword-combat as a martial art?), but Needle feels better, if you know how to use a fencing blade properly. [disclaimer: all brandishing of swords was done when the hall was closed, and I wasn’t going to accidentally impale any passers-by].

I also got to have a bit of a look round, and a catch-up with the team behind one of the KS games I’m waiting on – unlike last year, I didn’t come away with any new games, but there were certainly a few things which caught my eye and I’ll be looking out for in the near future.

Mars The only disappointment with the weekend was the amount of actual gaming that got done – I’d hoped to get in at least one session of Terraforming Mars (a game which sits firmly in the “looks interesting, but too expensive to try” bracket for me), but ultimately we only managed a single game of Skull and a few rounds of Codenames. That said, the final round of Codenames in particular was one of the funniest I’ve ever witnessed as the opposing spymaster gave a clue which everyone except his 2 teammates understood, then watched them blunder around for ten minutes before accidentally stumbling on the right answers via sheer dumb luck. [ok, you probably had to be there].

Expo was the first time I’d spent nights away from home since my son was born, and I ended up going back to join him (and my wife) at my in-laws house on Saturday night. I hope to make it back to Expo again next year, but am learning the folly of making long-term plans without getting the baby’s permission.

 

What got played?

MahJong
My dad still doesn’t understand why everyone is laughing at his wall…

Bearing in mind the low overall level of gaming, June wasn’t too bad for crossing off games that had previously been unplayed – 3 days at my parents’ house ensured the inevitable dusting off of Mah Jong, and B-Sieged also made its first foray from shelf to table. I still have 15 unplayed games, some of which will be going up for sale soon, whilst others should get played reasonably soon.

There were a few fun new discoveries in June, perhaps the most surprising of which was Doom, a 1-vs-many board game from FFG, based on the computer game of the same name. I’d picked this up to review, and had expected to wheel it out to limited enthusiasm, possibly paint it, then sell it on, but found it went down surprisingly well. By contrast with The Others, a superficially similar game I reviewed last year, this game has a tight ruleset, streamlined gameplay and more customisation potential than you can shake a stick at. It’s not a short game by any means, but it still returned to the table, by request, on 2 out of the 3 nights following its initial introduction. The fact that it doesn’t lend itself well to 2-player means I’ll probably still end up moving it along, but an engaging diversion nonetheless.

 

Themes?

Doom-Board-Game-Box The rise of Doom also impacted the Theme and Mechanic break-downs for the month, with “Sci-Fi” and “Kill the Other side” being far more prominent than they have previously, (although “Kill the Other side” owes its prominence at least as much to Runewars). There was still a fair amount of the usual quest-completing-monster-beating-world-saving, but not in the overwhelming way it has been in the past. Lastly came the ever-helpful criteria that is “win,” which became a bigger element than normal.

Aside from that, Fantasy remains strong, with a sprinkling of Abstract, although it was a pretty lean month for all things Lovecraft – just a single session apiece for Mansions, Eldritch and Elder Sign, whilst Arkham LCG found itself caught in a lull as I tried to work out whether to re-build decks or wait for the next adventure (new deck arrived on the 29th, but didn’t get a chance to play it before the month ended).

 

Overall thoughts

Nedicide As we start to lurch towards something a bit like a routine, I get a distinct sense that the high levels of gaming we managed between January and April are phenomena of the past. Whilst I have hope that bed-times and regular naps might allow us to get a bit of structure back into life, a baby who is actually interested in the world around him takes more time and attention than one who basically lies around inert, and we’ve progressed much more rapidly to the grabbing stage of things.

GreenHorde The rather massive Kickstarter for Zombicide Green Horde (the successor to Black Plague) meant that June was the nearest I’ve come to admitting defeat in my attempts to have a negative overall spend on gaming for 2017: I’ve managed to claw things back towards zero by selling off a few unused odds and ends, but I’m still in the red right now.

Even if I don’t get back to negative spend, I don’t think that what I’ve spent looks at all shabby when compared to the hundreds of hours of gaming we’ve had (not to mention dozens of hours painting).

Right now my spending on gaming this year is up a fair bit on last year (69% of the spend after only 49% of the time), but with sales already at 131% of last year, I don’t think I’d be too worried, even if I didn’t know that most (hopefully all) of 2017’s bank-breaking Kickstarters were behind me.

I’ll continue to monitor my collection, and am already starting to consider moving along one or two favourites that others don’t share my enthusiasm for, and which I struggle to get to the table.

Whatever happens, I’ll keep gaming as much as I can, and when I have anything (hopefully) interesting to say, and the time to say it, I’ll keep posting on here.

Leave a Reply

